Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

You are here  >  News2

ACC News Portal


Top News Rotator

Press Releases

Monday, April 30, 2018

ACC PTK Inducts New Members

ACC PTK Inducts New Members
If there were three things that people can do to become an effective leader they are to learn from mistakes, don’t shy from risk and don’t take yourself too seriously

“Sometimes the best thing to do when we fail is to fail forward,” said ACC Dean Dr. Jerry Fliger.

Fliger was the guest speaker for the April 5 induction ceremony for the  Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at ACC.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963.

Phi Theta Kappa member Cody Dewar was also recently nominated for the Alumni Award of Appreciation. Dewar will be recognized during the Phi Theta Kappa national Centennial Catalyst at the Coming Home Reception in Kansas City on April 21.

Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

Those who want to become leaders should learn to take risks, Fliger said. So many people avoid risks because they’re afraid of what might happen, he said.

“The question then becomes, ‘What if we don’t do it?,’” he said. “Well, things will stay the same. Dream big and take the risks.”

While leadership is something that takes commitment and calculated decisions, it can’t be taken too seriously, he said.

“We are going to do things that are foolish,” Fliger said. “If you’re going to do anything great, you’re also going to fail.”

The newest members are: Jonathan Bartlett, of Manvel, Diana DeLeon, of Alvin, Janina Hillyer, of Alvin, Sally Johnson, of Rosharon, Timothy Joya, of Pearland and Garret Page, of Rosharon.



Campus Events Calendar

EasyDNNnews TagCloud

News Search

Latest News