Test Scoring


TSIA2  Test results are usually available in Testing Center immediately. Occasionally, an essay score may take 24 hours.

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA) forbids giving scores over the telephone. However, students are welcome to come to the Testing Center to pick up a copy of their scores and course recommendations. This information is also available during the student's Academic Advising session, required of all new students.

The TSIA 2 Assessment is a series of basic skills tests completed on a computer. The tests are designed to measure current skills in reading, writing, and mathematics. This assessment allows you and your advisor to work together to help you succeed in your courses. Test scores indicate areas where you may need help and which courses might be a starting point for your educational career.

A student may retake an assessment at any time, subject to availability, to determine readiness to perform freshman-level academic course work. Students who score below the minimum on the retest will be subject to additional action to assist in reaching the College Readiness standard.

College Readiness Standard

Required Scores for College Readiness

TSIA 2013 Version

TSI Reading         351+      

TSI Writing            310-339  4+ (ABE)               5+ (Essay)

TSI Writing            340+                      4+ (Essay)

TSI Math                              350+      


TSIA2 Effective January 11, 2021

ELAR     CRC       945+ and Essay 5+


               CRC       910-944 and DL 5+ and Essay 5+

Math       CRC       950+


               CRC       910-949 and DL6

TISA/TSIA2 scores are valid five years from date of testing.


Developmental Courses
Assessment tests are designed to help students succeed at the level in which they are ready. In some cases, this will mean students need to enroll in developmental level courses to prepare them for college-level courses. Your Academic Advisor will let you know if developmental level courses are required in certain areas. If they are required, you must enroll and attend a developmental course for at least one of the sections until the courses are completed with a grade of "C" or better.